Getting Sick When Your Already Sick

One thing that few of us chronically ill people talk about is being ill – and this seems doubly true when it comes to getting a normal illness on top of it all.

When you are chronically ill, feeling a bit crap comes as an every day occurrence. You are already in pain, exhausted and feeling that fluey feeling most people only experience with the actual flue. Personally I find that what I really mean when I say ‘I’m fine thank you’  is actually ‘I am in so much pain I could puke and I’m so exhausted that I feel a tad on the dead side, but thats nothing out of the ordinary thanks’. I do this because like many others, I assume that I am rarely talking to someone who would actually want an honest answer – after all, I suspect most wouldn’t be able to figure out a reply without a spectacularly awkward silence first. My illness is something I have tried to push out of focus to the world around me – I take pride in my ability to mask the bad times and make people forget that I’m ill. After all, I am a woman first and an illness last.

However, let me be the first to tell you that getting ill on top of being ill is not much fun! Today I woke up with a sore throat, a fever that has been raging all day, skin so sensitive I want to peel it off, and that general fluey fog you get with being ill. I have gone between shivering and being so sleepy that I can’t keep my eyes open, and spent most of the day feeling like the world was moving.

Now, for all you well people out there – imagine having the flu, and then adding it to all of the symptoms EDS and POTS gives someone day-to-day. Add it to the joints popping in and out of place all day, the usual constant headache, tight muscles, chronic pain and brain fog (yes, you get a doubly foggy brain!) Add that to issues with swallowing, tachycardia, postural dizziness and fatigue. On top of all of that, add in the nausea, back ache, odd temperature regulation, insomnia and TMJ (jaw) issues. I am not listing everything here, but you get the idea. We already feel like crap day to day, so when the double whammy comes, it tends to hit us hard.

Even on a day like today, I hide it, even tho its perhaps more socially acceptable to talk about this type of illness. I may mention in passing that I’m feeling ‘a bit crap’, but what I actually mean is that I feel bloody horrific. I shut myself away, and I wait for it to pass, all the time knowing that when I get better, I won’t really be better at all – I will just be chronically ill rather then chronically ill with bells and whistles.

The one upside, is that being chronically ill will feel much better then this does.

Leave a Reply

