The Difference of a Good GP

Having been battling with pretty much every GP practice I have been (un)fortunate enough to cross paths with, I had long since given up on the idea that any doctor would ever be of use to me. I have spent years fighting to get help for each of my many conditions, and every time I have come up against wall upon wall. Of late (since the last rant I had about funding), I had point blank stopped going, feeling that I am happier dealing with my health issues alone rather then deal with any more upset and refusal of the help I need. That is, until now!
Having avoided my GP surgery for the last few months, I completely missed any idea that my old useless frustrating GP would be needing some time off for maternity leave. I got a call a few weeks ago asking me to go in to see her – and was petrified it was to try and take away the painkillers that I know they aren’t so happy prescribing. So I took a friend along to help fight my corner (I learnt very quickly that nobody listens to this zebra directly), and very nervously sat in the waiting room waiting for battle to commence. The door opened and to my surprise a totally new face stuck their head out and called my name.

This doctor is maternity leave cover, but she is truly an angel in doctor for. She had called me in purely because she had been reading my notes and realised I’m on a lot of medication, so wanted to get to know my face and discuss how things are going. After a quick blow by blow account, she had decided that a referral to a rheumatologist needed doing strait away (the referral that I have been fighting to get for months/years), stating ‘your young, you shouldn’t be having to deal with this and if the practice have an issue with it, they can come to me!’ And that my other thyroid hormone needed to be checked (up til now my TSH has always been low suggesting hyperthyroid, but t4 was always normal – nobody had gone further and checked my t3) and surprise surprise it has actually come back abnormal! She also told me she was going to go through all of my notes, research things and read my hospital letters – all of which she has now done! She is now chasing advice from an endocrinology team for me! 

I am literally bowled over by how genuinely caring this doctor is. I have never had any support like this before, and the difference it makes is astounding. I have gone from feeling totally hopeless, demoralised and burdensome to feeling like I have a physician I can actually talk to about my health issues. I even mentioned a little about my mental health, and she was absolutely amazing about it. No telling me my pain was obviously caused by that or dismissing it, she actually told me she was very pleased I told her as it’s important to get the right support in place before it gets any worse! That has never happened before.

I feel like I am dreaming it all. I am dreading the day my original GP comes back to work again as I know that I will be right back in the position I have been in, but for now I will make use of this absolute Godsend and go to the doctor when I need help!

Leave a Reply

